Swimming Awards

We follow the Swim England Learn to Swim Programme which is the national syllabus used to help teachers deliver swimming lessons.  It ensures swimming lessons for all ages are delivered to a high and consistent standard.  The all-inclusive programme takes non-swimmers on a journey through four specialised Frameworks.  These start with the basics of learning to swim and end with advanced skills for sports such as water polo or diving. There is also a Framework for teaching adults to swim.

Duckling Awards

These Swim England Pre-School Framework Awards are a natural follow on from the Discovery Duckling Awards. They are aimed at children who are old enough to follow instructions and can move on their own.  They give the child more independence and start to build their confidence in water. These Awards are used to slowly build up the child ready for the Learn to Swim Framework Stages 1-7.  Again these lessons will usually be given as an adult and child lesson, where both are in the water. They could also be held with small groups of children and teaching assistants in the water.

The Swim England Learn to Swim Framework is about developing confident and competent swimmers through fun and enjoyment, and Learn to Swim Stages 1-7 are at the heart of the Swim England Learn to Swim Programme.  It is the most widely known part of swimming lessons for children and is the backbone of swimming lessons for primary school aged children.  Each of the seven stages of the Swim England Learn to Swim Framework has a clear set of targets for the pupil to meet so they can get to the next stage.  Swim England recommends that children don’t just stop going to lessons once they can swim, increasing their competence in the water helps to make sure they can keep themselves safe.  This part of the Programme not only teaches a child to swim using the four strokes. It also gives them a number of other skills, which when put together, give children the ability to do a range of other water-based sports.  The Swim England Learn to Swim Framework gives children confidence in their ability to swim. From this comes more enjoyment of swimming, a love for swimming and being in the water and the skills and motivation required to lead a healthy and active lifestyle through regular swimming through to their adult life.

Stages 1 to 7

Stages 8 to 10

Once the swimmer has developed the core range of swimming skills throughout stages 1 to 7, they may have the choice to take part in different aquatic disciplines, Flip ‘n’ Fun, Diving, Water Polo, Synchro or Stage 8 Stroke Development.  Water Skills Club: Once the swimmer has developed an acceptable degree of basic competence in stage 7, then they may choose to come to the water skills club.  Pre-Competition Training: If the swimmer wishes to further their career in swimming then this is the next stage.


Verified by MonsterInsights